DWI: Taking a Breathalyzer Test
According to dui.drivinglaws.org, “Louisiana law requires you to take a breath, blood, or urine test if you are arrested for a DWI”. This goes under the “implied consent” law in Louisiana. This law also says that if an officer that arrests somebody has probable cause that he or she has been driving/boating while intoxicated, that person consents to taking a blood, breath, or urine test to determine that person’s BAC.
There are a few offenses, if one refuses to take the test. The 1st offense is a 6 month license revocation, the 2nd offense is also a 6 month license revocation, and the 3rd offense is 2 days minimum jail time. If arrested, it’s the duty of the officer to tell you your rights and consequences you face if you refuse the test. In short, it’s better to cooperate than to refuse to take a blood/breath/urine test.
Need help with your DWI situation or guidance for the future? We encourage you to visit our article on 4 Great Reasons for Hiring a DWI Lawyer. At Southern Oaks, DWI attorney Taylor Fontenot knows the local and state DWI laws. His priority is always to help his clients and to do his absolute best to provide a fair solution. Give Taylor a call today!
The materials available at this web site are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem.
© COPYRIGHT 2018. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.