These New DWI Laws for Louisiana Took Effect August 1st
As of August 1st, Louisiana’s Highway Safety Commission implemented new DWI laws, centered around provisions and penalties. These laws were passed during this year’s regular legislative session. We won’t bore you with the details, but we wanted to give you the summary of what has changed due to the implementation of these laws. KATC explains the new changes.
If convicted of driving while intoxicated and subjected to a blood, breath or urine test, that person will face a $125 fine. This is a $50 increase, from the previous $75 fine.
Also, judges can now extend probation even longer for those convicted of a 3rd and 4th offense DWI in a specialty court program. This is aimed at improving access to a monitored substance abuse treatment.
Lastly, drivers that cause dangerous wakes speeding through flooded areas could face up tp 250 hours community service and a 2 year driver’s license suspension for careless operation of a motor vehicle.
For any new DWI laws in Louisiana, we will be updating and informing you on our website. At Southern Oaks Law Firm, criminal law attorney Taylor Fontenot knows the ins and out of the local DWI laws. His priority is always to help his clients and to do his absolute best to provide a fair solution. Contact Taylor today!
The materials available at this web site are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem.
© COPYRIGHT 2018. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.