Louisiana’s Adoption Laws
Adopting a child can be a wonderful and awesome experience. What can put a rain on that parade is the wrong legal advice or the lack of following the proper legal precautions. So that you never have to deal with a chance of rain, so to speak, we will outline Louisiana’s adoption laws below.
Generally, for each state, the laws determine who is allowed to adopt and what special requirements, if any, exist for adoptive parents. According to FindLaw, “under Louisiana law spouses must join in the adoption unless they are legally separated”.
In Louisiana, any child or adult may be adopted; special procedures have been put in place, when it comes to adopting adults. When it comes to the specific age that a child’s consent is needed, it’s not required. Any single person 18 or older, or a married couple jointly, may adopt. Louisiana, along with six other states, has it to where a person must be at least 18 years old to adopt. The home residency required, prior to finalization of the adoption, is 1 year/6 months.
This whole process is much more complicated and in-depth than our article can display. Along with the reality of the potentially lengthy process, Louisiana’s statutes and policies can seem to go on forever. To ensure your Louisiana adoption is done properly, you likely want to consult with a local adoption attorney familiar with Louisiana adoption laws and policies.
It’s important that you file the appropriate paperwork and comply with the procedural requirements – including notice to legal parents, consent, and/or termination of parental rights – to protect your new legal family and safeguard against future litigation.Taylor Fontenot of Southern Oaks Law Firm is a family law attorney that specializes in adoption cases in the state of Louisiana. Call or email Taylor today!