Expungement removes your arrest history from public record. Even in Louisiana courts, the process may vary from one court to the next. To go through the process, there are misconceptions and falsehoods that a person needs to see past first. Here is what you need to know about the expungement process:
- Your records do not undergo permanent or temporary destruction
- Louisiana can still use your past offenses in a future prosecution
- You cannot restore your driver’s license privileges through expungement
- You cannot possess a firearm
- If a sex offender, you still must register with the state
Expungement may allow you to seek employment without an arrest record burdening the process. Law enforcement and government agencies may still access your file. When it comes to answering questions about your criminal history, there are no laws that dictate what you can or cannot say.
To qualify for expungement, you need the court’s approval. You will have forms to fill out that you submit to court. In addition to forms, you will need a background check acquired within 30 days of the filing date. The process will cost you about 550 dollars and you must pay this in full when you file. The money separates into several fees that go to the Criminal District Court Clerk, the Louisiana State Police, the District Attorney and the parish sheriff.
The entire process may take 60 days from filing until you hear a response from each agency. Then, you may have to wait an additional 30 to 60 days. This is when the Louisiana State Police will send you a Certificate of Compliance.
This information is for informational purposes only and not legal advice.